Menu

How do the various curricula fit into the classical method?

Kidlit

I am a complete newbie, so please forgive me for asking what are probably very ignorant questions. I have two dds, ages 4 and almost 3. We will probably begin some kindergarten work next year (possibly with both of them, since my almost 3 year old is very insistent on being included in what her big sis does). Therefore, I'm really in no hurry to make a decision; I'm still mulling it over in my brain.

Okay, onto my question: I get the idea of classical education. I understand that it's based on three stages of development, and that the student cycles through history during each stage. However, what I don't know if I understand is how different curricula work with this. I have been to a HS conference where I saw TOG and SL firsthand, and both were interesting to me. How are they different? Can someone distill this for me in a short form that I can easily understand?

Thanks!:D

Let me begin by saying I do not use either TOG or SL... But, the big glaring difference between those two is that TOG follows a chronological path of history that gets repeated 3 times. SL is not chronological. I'm sure those who have hands-on experience with these programs will shine more light though...

HTH,

Amanda

And, not to muddy the waters too much for you :D, "classical education" can be subdivided into traditional classical and neo-classical. It's the neo-classical strand which uses history cycles (WTM is an excellent example). I haven't used either of your examples. From what I gather SL is more literature based; although, I think many moms & dads do schedule SL in a type of history rotation. I think you'll find many here who use and like both of these programs.