Menu

Very confused on ACT vs SAT scoring

My older daughter took the PSAT and SAT and did very well on them, and didn't bother with the ACT. I have no experience with the ACT either or any idea what scores might be comparable to SAT. I am having my 16 ds, 10th grade, do some test prep out of on ACT book and a PSAT book - I don't at the moment have an unused SAT book around. I wanted to see which test might be better for him, as I have heard that some kids do better on one than the other.

I had him do an ACT Reading and he scored a 28. On a PSAT Critical Reading, he scored a 72. Are these roughly comparable, or is the 72 or a 720 on the SAT, better than a 28 on the ACT?

On ACT English he scored a 26, and on PSAT Writing a 68. Same questions as above.

Or is he just doing better on the PSAT because it is the PSAT instead of the SAT?

thanks

Carolyn

Thanks for the links. I found one for PSAT as well. According to those, he is in a higher percentile on PSAT/SAT than ACT?

Why would there be such differences? Just different ways of thinking? Even to me, the ACT seems harder than the SAT, and that is just looking at the Reading/Writing sections.

thanks

Carolyn

Thanks for the links. I found one for PSAT as well. According to those, he is in a higher percentile on PSAT/SAT than ACT?

Why would there be such differences? Just different ways of thinking? Even to me, the ACT seems harder than the SAT, and that is just looking at the Reading/Writing sections.

thanks

Carolyn

Hi Carolyn,

In general, the ACT is a speed round.  Can your son read and comprehend quickly?  If not, that may be the issue.  

In general, the content on the ACT is more straight-forward (math covers more ground, but the questions aren't as tricky; fewer grammar topics, etc.); however, for a lot of kids, it can be like a lightening round as far as the pacing.