Menu

On an iPad: What app do I need to "write" on PDFs? And rec's for a stylus?

There are so many apps, and I am new to iPads (have an iPad 2). I've been using a Kindle Fire (love it!), but one of the things I'd like to be able to do with this larger-screen iPad is:

1)  Write/annotate for active "mom" books/resources I have on it (PDFs)

2)  Have my elementary kids be able to "write" directly on the screen for certain PDFs we use...and then save it that way... and maybe have 2 of the same PDFs (with a name change) so that 2 kids could "write" on their separate documents.

Suggestions? I'd really prefer not to spend $10 on an app -- of course, if I knew I'd LOVE it and could try it out, that would be fabulous. And I guess I will have to buy a stylus for this, so recommendations on that too would be terrific.

And I've read some threads about One Note which looks like a dream but we don't have it and our PCs are very old and we do most everything on Chromebooks. 

THANKS! 

I have tons of apps as we had the app store gift card from the BTS promotion last year at Apple.  I use the following two on a daily basis for PDF annotation.

Notability for the kids - visually appealing for the kids and I like the organization levels  - $2.99 right now, used to be $ .99

PDF Expert for me - ability to quickly to organize, merge, delete, split documents (a  bit boring in appearance) - $9.99 normal price, sometimes goes on sale for $4.99

I have also tried and deleted iAnnotate, Goodreader (good but too cluttered), and Penultimate (poor).

As for stylus - I have tried the Targus and Boxwave.  I like the mesh fiber for the Boxwave.  

Edited:  Autocorrect!

I like Notability. But I also recently got Scrapnote and I think it looks really nice - like functional Notability and elegant Paper had a baby.