Menu

Calculus concerns at dual-enrolled school

Ds17 (a rising senior) is scheduled to take calculus at the local liberal arts college next year through their Lederman Scholar program. He is excited to be taking math in a classroom rather than distance learning through Art of Problem Solving. After reading several posts here about the rigor or lack of rigor of certain textbooks, I have some concerns. They use the Stewart book. My older son used it and he did very well. But, he is a bio major and it was a "good enough" text for him. But ds17 plans to either major in physics or math, so I am concerned that this book will not be adequate preparation for him. Although I majored in Math many years ago, I don't remember squat (except a very vivid memory of my professor nearly dislocating his shoulder to explain something about cluster points.) I really don't think I can help him as he has far outpaced me in this department.

So, my question is ... how do I help him get a rigorous enough Calculus experience for what he wants to do? I don't want to do another distance learning class (nor does he.) I am tempted to email the head of the math department (as he is also in charge of the Lederman Scholars program) and ask him.

Stewart is a fairly standard text and many universities use it for math majors. It depends on where he wants to go to college. If he goes to a non-flagship state school, or a smaller LAC, that will probably be what they used for math majors. If he goes to someplace really good, he should look at repeating their honors calc course. For example, MIT uses Apostol in their honors sequence. Other universities use Spivak. Many of the students at these universities have already had a course like the one your son will be taking.

If you want to refresh your memory of calculus, Spivak, Apostol and Courant have PDF copies floating around the Internet. I found Spivak and Courant at archive.org.