Menu

Please help Asperger's Boy

Guest Exhausted_Aspie_Mom

M

Hello, I'm new to all of this. I'm a mom to an incredible 6y/o and 3 y/o Aspies. My 6 y/o (my son) started out at public school. We had been promised the world, but given nothing. To make a long story short, we finally (through a nasty legal battle) were able to free him from the Public School. The first month or so was a battle to break him free from his autistic shell that the school that left him with (his teacher was a sadistic freak who bullied him mercilessly). Once he started to become himself again, I started trying different curriculum.*

I know my son has unmedicated AD/HD, sensory issues, and little to no auditory abilities. So, since he is constantly on the go, I tried a whole hands-on learning curriculum from Learning Resources. When that failed, I tried Time4learning, apps on an IPad, multi-media unit studies on his "special interest," lap books, and the classical school method of text books and workbooks. Nothing works with my son.

(By the way, we did attempt to medicate his AD/HD. Unfortunately, he stopped eating altogether, and had a horrible attitude while on it. We did try several different ad/hd meds, but all of them had the same results.)

I love my boy. He is smart and very interesting (i.e. when I find the sunshine in his rants that go *on and on and on about his special interest for hours). He can't pay attention worth a darn. He is not just a reluctant learner, he is all out resistant. Unless I were to go "Clockwork Orange" style and strap him down with his eye pinned open, there is no way he will learn from me.