Menu

Self-taught guitar programs?

We bought my daughter a guitar yesterday. The plan was to get her into guitar lessons a.s.a.p. However, the guitar center gave us a beginner lesson DVD. She and I watched the first lesson last night, and today she is strumming away C, G, G7 chords.

Has anyone had a child learn guitar through a DVD program? This seemed so simple to do, but I know it was just the beginning. Would it be feasible to learn at home? Share your experiences and/or recommendations for programs, please. Thanks!:001_smile:

My son has Learn & Master Guitar (the homeschool edition). He hasn't used it much yet, but I think it's pretty nice.

My ds has been teaching youngest dd a little bit. In fact, they are in his room right now practicing. She has a small size electric guitar. She can play some of Walk the Line, The Joker, and Smoke on the Water (not from Learn & Master). It's so cute when she plays.

This is a subscription service. My ds got 3 months for Christmas and raves about it. Definitely worth the cost.

We bought my daughter a guitar yesterday. The plan was to get her into guitar lessons a.s.a.p. However, the guitar center gave us a beginner lesson DVD. She and I watched the first lesson last night, and today she is strumming away C, G, G7 chords.

Has anyone had a child learn guitar through a DVD program? This seemed so simple to do, but I know it was just the beginning. Would it be feasible to learn at home? Share your experiences and/or recommendations for programs, please. Thanks!:001_smile:

Ds has been learning classical guitar using the Hal Leonard book/cd and dvd. He actually has stopped using the DVD since he no longer needs the visual but it is available if he needs it. We have found it helpful to have access to someone who knows guitar for an occasional glitch where he just couldn't figure something out. In our case, dh is that person.