Menu

Introduction and Biology Questions

Greeting from California! I have been a lurker for a bit and I thought I would take the plunge and join the forum in order to benefit from you collective wisdom!

My husband and I have been homeschooling our two sons for six years now: older ds is finishing us 10th grade and will turn 16 on 6/2,and younger ds is going to graduate 8th grade on his 14th birthday (6/14).

In CA, our public university systems apparently don't appreciate biology courses taught from books by BJU, Abeka, and Apologia, so in order to jump through the UC and CSU hoops I need to pick a secular text with good support materials. An added plus would be an affordable price!:)

I have been able to pick up a few used bio textbooks (student versions) from library book sales (cant' beat 50 cents for a book!). Now I am trying to decide if I should use one of them or try to find a used copy of Exploring Life (is that what is sometimes called baby campbell?). Whatever I choose, I need to ba able to get teacher's materials like a teacher's text, lab manuals, tests and answers...

Here is a list of the books I have:

Glencoe: Biology, the Dynamics of Life 2000 edition

Holt Rinehart and Winston: Biology Principles and Explorations 2001 edidtion

Holt: Biology Visiualizing Life, 1998 edition

In additon, I will most likely be folding in a couple of other students for labs and tests, so I need to be able to get books, etc, for them.

Any thoughts from those of you who have used any of these texts of compared then to Exploring Life? Any and all ideas welcomed and appreciated! Thank you!!!

Blessings to you all,

April

Hi April,