Menu

Heart rate monitor vs. pulse oximeter?

I like working out wearing a heart rate monitor because I'm not very good at judging whether I'm pushing too hard or not pushing enough. I need something to tell me when enough is enough.

The hrm on my treadmill is worthless. Not even worth checking.

I *hate* wearing a heart rate monitor with a chest strap and watch. Perhaps it's the spare tire around my middle, but I have a hard time getting a good enough contact and I hate the feeling of constriction.

So...those little pulse oximeter things they use at the doctor's office, the little thing they clip to your finger for a minute, do those do basically the same thing? It's counting your pulse? Can I keep one of those on my treadmill and just stick my finger in once in a while? :bigear: (Is that a dumb question?)

Pulse oximeters will check the oxygen level and the pulse (at least ours does). But a good one is fairly expensive. I haven't looked in awhile, but we got ours at REI about three years ago for more than $300. Research quality carefully - there are levels.

You could use it for the purpose you propose. I prefer a regular heartrate monitor, but I know what you mean about the strap. I make the strap rather loose and tuck the whole thing in under the bottom of my exercise bra ;).

I prefer a regular heartrate monitor, but I know what you mean about the strap. I make the strap rather loose and tuck the whole thing in under the bottom of my exercise bra ;).

Yeah, I tried that. :001_huh:

It might be worth $300 not to have that degrading feeling that I'm so fat I can't even make contact with the chest strap thingy. :001_unsure:

Yeah, I tried that. :001_huh:

It might be worth $300 not to have that degrading feeling that I'm so fat I can't even make contact with the chest strap thingy. :001_unsure:

a cursory search yielded one that appears to be identical, or nearly identical, to the one I have..