Menu

standardized testing s/o..why do you do this?

I.Dup.

I saw several of you mention that you don't really care about standardized tests, you just do them for the school district.

Since the WTM/classical way is so intensive and focused, I am wondering what many of your reasons are for doing school this way. I love the classical method, though I am no expert, and the main reason I would and do teach my children this way is to give them the best head start I possibly can, and because I truly feel that this way to educate is best.

I don't want them to get to be 18 and be unable to get into college if they want to. I would love for them to be able to easily get full-ride scholarships to wherever they want to go.

Honestly, in the back of my mind that is my main motivation. I am terribly afraid that I will cripple them if I don't teach them well enough, and ALL they need to know, if not more. I would love for them all to have good, solid careers someday. Obviously we have more than a couple kids, and this is a struggle for me to balance everything.

The only way I know to measure that we are on the right track is by doing standardized testing since, when they are applying to colleges, they WILL be compared to their peers. So I am suddenly intensely focused on standardized testing since it seems to be the only way to make sure I am on the right track here...if she scores really well, I can take a deep breath....if not, yikes.

Am I way off base? Can anyone else relate?

People say they don't care about test scores in the elementary grades. Those scores are not going to follow them to college.