Menu

HELP! I'm new to hs and having a hard time with LA (long, sorry!)

I've just discovered you all here! I am new to homeschooling and am having the HARDEST time with LA programs!

Background: My DS is 7 will be 8 in Nov. He will be starting 2nd here at home beginning in Aug. DD is 4, 5 in Nov and will attend church preschool 4 morning a week starting in August.

My DS struggles with reading. He was in PS for 1st and we had a private tutor 2 x per wk all year. He tests as an entering 2nd grader in reading, but it is NOT easy for him and he is really struggling. We are reading daily still now (him to me and me to him) that it's summer. Anyway, all of the choices are killing me! So, can you guys help?

Phonics: He finished 100EZ with tutor, I have PP, but he knows it all I went through the back half and he did just fine--anyone rec a program to follow b/c he still needs the digraphs and dipthongs, etc...or should I combine with spelling program like AAS? Maybe ETC or R&S Phonics 2?

Spelling: see above...AAS or should I try sequential spelling...I looked at spelling workout but I don't think it will work for him...

Grammar: R&S 2 (but I think he might need 3 b/c he seems to already know all of this, maybe I should review at first) Thoughts on levels?

Reading: Pathway readers and workbooks, but also supplement books tied in with history (using SOTW)--he needs more fluency

Handwriting: HWT2

Writing: I need comments on WWE and WS...they seem completely different. WWE is mostly for narration and dictation and WS is more creative writing, right? I really would like to do both, but I know I'm ambitious!

Anyway, I'm open to any and all helping comments!

Welcome!

Here's what I would do, ymmv as usual--

I'd drop grammar for now and focus on getting reading skills down. If he's been thru PP, then it seems to me he just needs to practice. The Activity Guide for SOTW has lots of wonderful reader suggestions tied (of course) to history. Use it as a reading resource.