Menu

Night Terrors?

I have no experience w/ these, but ohmygosh, I've never had a night like last night, either.

Dd2 woke up to go to the bathroom. I took her in there & could tell she was a little panicked, to get to the bathroom in time, I'm thinking. She wants the light on, but I put her on the toilet first. It's not that dark in there, & I tell her the light will hurt her eyes. She flips. Dh tells me to turn the light on. She manages to say, "I told you...light..." very angrily. LOL

But then...she FREAKED. Those really aren't big enough letters, but I don't want to yell at y'all. The kind of screaming that makes you want to throw them in the back of the car & drive like a madwoman to the nearest ER.

Except...nothing appears to be wrong. Are you hurt? Does something hurt you? But she could barely talk. She'd shake her head no, but no words. She finally mimed to me that she needed a hug, but when I got her off the toilet, she screamed again, crazy person screaming. Said she needed to poop, but when I put her back up there, still screaming an agonizing kind of scream, nothing. Tried to get her down a couple of minutes later, & her legs just locked onto the potty chair.

I finally got her to get down & just held her, naked, in the bathroom floor, & she was...shaking isn't the right way to describe it...tense, maybe? Her whole body was like...electric...like I didn't want to set it off again. I finally took her to my bed, & we turned on a short little 30 minute nothing show, & she...kind-of watched it, but mostly clung to me. Finally convinced her to put her pjs & underwear back on & held her some more.

She was kind-of calm, but really grumpy, complaining, for ex, that she couldn't get comfortable because "you're too wiggly, Mama." As if! But I think she meant "bumpy."