Menu

Your own opinion, Which is the best and easiest way....

OK - I am not an expert but I like Shakespeare and enjoyed sharing him with my children! He is hysterical and profound, often in the same scene. And SWB told me, in 1999 and on page 344 of the WTM, what to do!!!

1. Read a summary. We love Nesbit's Beautiful Stories form Shakespeare for Children and Garfield's Shakespeare Stories. Usborne (I think?) had a nice series (got them from the library) but I can't remember the author.

2. Watch a version!

3. Read the play.

We "did" 2-3 plays a year for a few years but never a bunch at once! We read only 9 actual plays out of the ones we watched. We did use Sparknotes and Smarr for several. Honestly, we did not do a great deal of analysis - we just discussed a lot! My daughters did write about the ones we read for High School but, again, we did not go into great depth. For example, one year we read the Garfield version of Macbeth, read the play, watched the version with Judi Dench as Lady Macbeth and discussed a lot. A few months later we saw it in Central Park and we discussed it again. Then about a year or two later we saw a BBC modernized version,read and discussed it again and, finally, my daughter wrote about it. By then she had something to say!

The Lightning Literature selections look great! I have used three other LL books and thought they were quite good so I expect that the Shakespeare guides will also be good. So, if you are looking for a program I think that you should check them out.