Menu

Home School Tests

pamd

I take the test results with a grain of salt. There is not one way, one path to education. My goal may be to introduce topics when my student is ready for them. I look at the long-term, not the short-term.

We used MUS from K through Algebra. I know that many people were concerned about it because it follows a non-traditional path in K-4 or so. The path made complete sense to me. Ds never scored below average in math, but then I have a degree in math, and he's got the math gene. In fact, in 5th grade, he was scoring post-HS on the tests. Do I care? Not really, other than to brag. ;)

In FL, our students must be evaluated on an annual basis. I switched evaluators after my first year here, and the 2nd evaluator used a different test. Our students don't have to be tested, the evaluator can review a portfolio, but that's too much work for me. Anyway, in 5th grade, the new test showed ds to be below grade level in spelling. We had never used a spelling program. So, I started one, and his scores improved.

At the end of 6th grade, I gave ds the ITBS. He scored below average in capitalization. We had never worked formally on capitalization. I paid a bit more attention to capitalization. We covered it thoroughly in 8th grade. I expect to see better results at the end of this year.

Ds has never been tested in writing. If he had, I'd probably be more worried. :tongue_smilie:

I do think the test does help me look at areas where I may have failed to implement certain things so that is a benefit, but I don't like the grade level that they compare with. Exspecially since we are work on several different grade levels in different areas. Thanks so much for you insight.

Did you mean the standardized tests such as the Stanford Achievement Test or the Iowa Text of Basic Skills? the ones that children in schools take?