Menu

New to Charlotte Mason - which book to get

HollyDay

I am new to CHarlotte Mason. In fact, without realizing it, I was doing quite a bit last year! But, I would like to read more and be encouraged to continue with the concept. I want to learn more.

What book(s) should I get? Our library carries nothing. No one in my cover has any CM books. In fact, several ladies asked me "What is that all about? Never heard of it" So, whatever I need, I will have to purchase.

My children are 5th and 8th. My 8th grader will be doing several classes for high school credit next year, so I really need information about high school.

Again, what books should I get that would help with my dc ages/stages?

I am new to CHarlotte Mason. In fact, without realizing it, I was doing quite a bit last year! But, I would like to read more and be encouraged to continue with the concept. I want to learn more.

What book(s) should I get?

At a bare minimum, read Charlotte's Original Homeschoooling Volume 6. It is in modern language at ambleside online. It will be instructive as to the "why's" as well as the "how's" of the method. The best thing is to go straight to Miss Mason's own writings, rather than reading other's interpretations that can lean toward anything from unit studies to unschooling. Everything you need to know at this point is contained in Volume 6!

If you go to the AO site, try printing out a chapter a day, reading and highlighting the important points. It's very do-able, and free!

I agree with the previous posts. I'm finishing up volume 1 of Charlotte Mason's series and it's inspiring and informative. I'll probably read volume 6 next to delve into the practical aspects of the Charlotte Mason method.

Simply Charlotte Mason's One Day Seminar is instructive and makes everything clear and simple. I experienced many lightbulb moments while watching the seminar and felt more confident about implementing Charlotte Mason's methodology.