Menu

Yet another Classical Conversations question

Is all the memory work put to music on the audio cd for each cycle? Are the songs too cheesy for a 13 year old? (we are thinking of doing this on our own) Do they use the VP audio cds for the history timeline or is the history timeline song included on the cycle cds? Are the powerpoint/resource cds worth the money?

thanks

My oldest (about that age now) did Foundations for three years, and never liked the songs at all. There are songs only for the history sentences, Latin, and skip counting. The rest is just recitiation (still helpful for pronouncing the geography IMHO), and they don't include the timeline because that "belongs" to Veritas Press. In the guide they're not even allowed to print the card titles, just the number and colors.

My oldest did fine just memorizing without the songs. My younger one loves the songs, and I used them in class each year that I was a tutor. In the fall I'm tutoring a class of 12-13 y.o.'s (mostly boys), and I'll try the songs but will drop it if they don't like them. Some people have their kids drill themselves using the Powerpoint. I'll probably do some of that this year, but in the past we didn't find it as useful at home. I did use the maps that come with the Powerpoint for class though.

You could save a bit by buying the older foundations guide and just making corrections. Easy...what I would have kept using, if I wasn't a Director.

I say that it's a great thing to do at home, and the songs aren't THAT bad:-) Just from listening to it around town and on the way to CC, all my kids learned most of the songs. (And the two oldest weren't in CC classes.)

Carrie

a cc group unexpectedly is forming in our area, okay, unexpected to me...I just heard about it, and we are seriously considering it.

Questions....if you have 3 kids in foundations, would you be able to use just one set of the vp cards sets?