Menu

Middle school grammar?

I've been casting about, trying to figure out what to do for grammar for middle school, either later this year, or next, but I can't decide what would work best for DD. She's a visual-spatial/whole-to-parts learner, pretty quick on the uptake, good at learning in context, but terrible at rote memorization. Humor, pictures and color are good things. She's had some exposure - we've done Treasured Conversations, FLL4, Daily Grams 5, and Grammar Island, but nothing consistent from year to year. So far, the best thing has been Super Grammar, which is basically a comic book describing each part of speech or concept as either a hero of villain, but it's just a book, no practice. R&S and CLE are out of the question, as they cause tears and frustration on both our parts. The Language Mechanic, The Giggly Guide to Grammar and ELTL are on my short list, but I have zero experience with any of them, so I don't know which would best fit my needs. I'm sure there are others I'm not aware of. 

What would you recommend for this child? I'm planning to use Build Your Library next year, which does not include grammar or spelling, but covers all the other English areas.

listening along....

I've had Image Grammar on my considering list. For now we are doing light grammar with Fix-It as ds has some punctuation issues that we are working on and I decided it was ok to lighten up after a couple of levels of MCT. I've thought as well about just doing this and that here and there, perhaps pulling out the Drawing Sentences book I have for diagramming as I think he would like it until he is a bit older and can do Barbarian Grammar from Lukieon. 

• Like 1