Menu

Non-mathy physics in 9th: Is Conceptual Physics a solid high school course?

I would really like dd to do the physics, chemistry, biology line-up in high school. Dd is taking Alg. I in 8th, and I have been considering the algebra-based College Physics by Knight, Jones, and Field for 9th grade.

Here's the problem: She's taking CPO Foundations of Physical Science; she reads the chapters, answers all of the questions, and does labs with dh who is a mechanical engineer. BUT, she does not test well. I'm really beginning to think College Physics would not be fair to her.

She has told me that she needs someone to talk to about physics WHILE she is studying. Since her dad works, she has no one. I have NO physics experience. When she talks through concepts, she really gets it. In this respect, she enjoys physics. Doing poorly on the tests is discouraging to her.

What about Conceptual Physics for 9th grade? I've avoided this course because I have not been convinced that it is a solid high school course. It might be just the ticket, though especially if we could combine it with TTC Physics in Your Life which I have and also add labs.... beef it up.

If you've used this course, would you share the ISBN numbers to the text you like best.... there are several books I read about last night. Please tell me if CP would be a good substitute for College Physics. Also, what have you done to make it a solid high school course?

What other ways can we do non-mathy physics for credit in 9th grade? My goal is to use physics as a prep for chemistry (and chemistry as a prep for biology.)

Thanks!

Edited by Sweet Home Alabama