Menu

Getting out of jury duty and the full-time college student...

Although he sent in a form stating that he would be living three hours away as a full-time college student, and requesting any jury duty be scheduled for next summer, ds just got a summons to show up for jury duty two weeks after school starts!

If it isn't one thing it is another.

Any fellow Illinois folks have any suggestions? Ds's school is on a 10-week quarter system and he just can't miss up to two weeks of class. His GPA falls and he looses the scholarships.

I had to serve jury duty in college. I missed the whole first day of classes of a new quarter including a 3 hr night class which is a week's worth of classes. When the judge asked if we had any reason we felt we shouldn't be there, I explained I was a college student and would be missing my first day of classes, but he didn't let me go. I was in a week later for jury duty again and told the judge again, I was a college student. This time he let me go because the case was going to last about three weeks and it would be too much of a hardship.

Living three hours away is kind of a hardship, eh?! The problem is they go with your voter registration card and where you voted as to where you would serve jury duty. He'll just have to call and see what can be done.

Here in Arizona, they have a 1-day appearance rule. The excuses that will get you out of showing up for 1 day are very limited, but once you're there, either they assign you to something that only takes 1 day, or they hear your excuses and you're most likely relieved if there's any kind of hardship--and half the time you call to find out what time to show up and they excuse you on the spot because they don't need as many people that day as they called, which is what happened to me the last time. (the time before that I used the "college student" excuse and only had the 1 day).