Menu

Talk to me about dual enrollment...

If my son does dual enrollment ... can he then, after graduation, still apply to a four-year university as a freshman student, thus eligible for the freshman scholarships?

How much dual-enrollment, if any, knocks you into the realm of being a transfer student?

If my son does dual enrollment ... can he then, after graduation, still apply to a four-year university as a freshman student, thus eligible for the freshman scholarships?

How much dual-enrollment, if any, knocks you into the realm of being a transfer student?

I'm not an expert since we're just starting to deal with this ourselves, but in one of the colleges we've been looking at, taking 12 credits or more in one semester knocks the student out and requires a transfer. They pointed that out to us... I'm not sure how many credits total would still qualify...

PA doesn't appear to do dual enrollment (outside of ps) anyway. We're paying full tuition for the cc class we signed my senior up for. Obviously, other states are different.

As I understand it, there is a difference between dual (concurrent) enrollment credits and credits earned after high school. Many incoming freshmen bring boatloads of credits to college, credits accumulated via AP, dual enrollment or summer study programs.

Of course, when in doubt, check with the college.

Lee at the homescholar blog wrote this a couple of days- so I will do the honors and cut and paste it from her site. I have also written on my dual enrollment experience at my blog http://www.domesticlifestyle.com

Here are Lee's remarks:

Dual Enrollment and Freshman Scholarships

June 15, 2009