Menu

Botany For High School

11 hours ago, Lori D. said:

Here are a few past threads on this topic -- they are also linked on PAGE 5 of the big pinned thread at the top of this board: "High School Motherlode #2":

Looking for interesting Botany and/or Agricultural Science curriculum
I've updated my free Botany curriculum
Botany with a focus on hydroponics

Thank you!  I was looking at the Guesthollow course last night and thinking of just ordering the lesson plans, but was wondering if anyone had an opinion on it.  Thanks for the links!

• Like 1

I have some experience with the Guest Hollow Botany course. I am using it with a middle school age child (she's only doing the assignments within her ability) but this could definitely work for high school. I think it's rigorous enough. There are A LOT of books for it though but not all are completely necessary. Some books are used for only 1-3 weeks and some through out year. It's a balancing act to figure out which to buy and which to borrow but it's worth it to keep my cost down. 

GH Botany is also good for a more natural child or as an option for a non-math-heavy science

• Like 2

Our son is in 8th grade so this may be too easy but... I'm having him do Apologia Botany (I made up quizzes), he then reads and colors a related page in Paul Young Botany coloring book.  Once this is done then he will watch The Great Courses Plant Science: An Introduction to Botany program and read the coursebook. After all this, I plan to go to the local botanical garden and have him draw/color a few plants that he finds interesting and then find the Latin names for them. Hope this helps.

• Like 1

On ‎3‎/‎7‎/‎2019 at 9:32 AM, Evanthe said:

Are you looking for living books or just a textbook?  (Asking because we have an entire shelf of excellent botany books, but no textbooks.). My oldest is *really* into botany.