Menu

Rod and Staff Math?

elah

I have been trying to use Saxon Math K for my 3rd daughter. I am just not thrilled with it and not motivated to actually use it most days. I use a lot of MP materials with my older girls and saw that they use Rod and Staff for math. I really don't know much about RS math but am wondering if I should try it. 

I would love to hear your thoughts if you have used RS, especially if you switched from Saxon or vs. 

Thanks!

What grades are we talking about? I've used pretty much the whole R&S set with various kids, but I have limited Saxon experience. I can vaguely remember the 5/4-8/7 books. The biggest difference is R&S is a solid mastery style, which means it camps out on a topic until it's well explored and mastered before moving on. Saxon loops them through in an incremental spiral of sorts.

R&S 1-3 require you to teach from the TM as there are no instructions in the student text. 4-8 can be self-teaching (for kids that work that way), but there's still a scripted plan for teaching in the TM and optional oral quizzes. 1 and 2 are workbooks. 3-8 are textbooks, but 3 and 4 have enough room to write directly in the textbook while you transition to using paper. It starts out slow and gentle with a basics-basics-basics approach. 1 is more on par with K level math in other publishers (Horizons, Singapore, etc), but by book 4 it's caught up and more standard. Personally we found the 2 level to be redundant and have way too much work in it. My kids skipped swaths of pages in 2, but in 1 and 3 we did every problem in every lesson.

R&S was the first math book my math struggler was finally successful in. I only wish we'd found it sooner for him. ♥  On the flipside my very mathy kids outpaced the program. When my 8yo showed he was ready for the grade 6 textbook, which has a workload absolutely appropriate for a 6th grade aged child, I moved him to a workbook based course instead. His little hand couldn't keep up.

• Like 3