Menu

Hoizons 6 or Lials BCM or ???

pocjets

Please help me with my math progression. We've been using Horizons and I do like it thus far. However, I know I'll eventually have to switch to something else. Should I stick with Horizons through Algebra and then figure out what to do? Should I do Lials BCM(6th), then Pre-Algebra(7th), then Jacob's Algrebra(8th), Geometry(9th)? Or should I use something entirely different? My husband is an engineer and I was an accountant previously so we're not afraid of math or teaching it. :)

Thank you so much for the help!

Please help me with my math progression. We've been using Horizons and I do like it thus far. However, I know I'll eventually have to switch to something else. Should I stick with Horizons through Algebra and then figure out what to do? Should I do Lials BCM(6th), then Pre-Algebra(7th), then Jacob's Algrebra(8th), Geometry(9th)? Or should I use something entirely different? My husband is an engineer and I was an accountant previously so we're not afraid of math or teaching it. :)

I can't tell you what to do, with ds 1 we went through Horizons5, then Dolciani Pre-Algebra, then Jacobs Algebra.

With dd we went through Horizon's 6 and are now doing Saxon 7/8 and planning to stick with Saxon.

I would stick with Horizons if you like it. I actually regret skipping Horizons 6 with ds--but more b/c he was young when he hit Alg 2 and it would have been good to have him older.

I didn't really like Horizons pre-Alg the month we used it, but others do like it.

My child did Horizon's through 6th grade and then Jacob's algebra.

We did Horizons 6 then Dolciani Pre-Algebra. My son was prepared well for Dolciani which is a pretty challenging course.

We had considered skipping Horizons 6 to go straight to pre-A, but lots of people advised us against it. Looking back, we are very glad we did not skip it.

• Like 1