Menu

Alaskan Cruise

OnMyOwn

My family is extremely fortunate in that my in laws want to take us on a cruise to Alaska this year. I have always wanted to do this!

But, MIL has asked me to research it and tell her what trip, cruise line,etc.

So, any suggestions? I have 2 teens. I was looking at Norwegian, I think, because they have things like rock climbing, mini golf and ice skating on the ship and my kids would love that, but it looks like they may be booked for this year. One of my kids also has food allergies, so we've got to be on a cruise that will accommodate that. We have used Disney in the past for another cruise we did and while they were great about the food allergies, the kids/teen club concept they had on board didn't appeal to my kids.

TIA for any info or advice!

Edited by OnMyOwn

I worked in the tourist industry in Juneau during the summers. Bargain cruise lines are not a good idea - Norwegian would be my first choice of the commonly running companies as well :)

We did an Alaskan cruise on Royal Caribbean back in 1999 or 2000.  We absolutely loved it.  If possible, pay for the balcony room.  So much of the cruise to Alaska is the gorgeous scenery and being able to sit out on your own little balcony was a real treat.

The helicopter to the glacier and the dogsled ride were the two biggest shore excursions that sell out way in advance.

We went the last week of August and the weather was beautiful. 

• Like 1