Menu

I need a new camera

PIE!

It is time again to get a new camera. The old one broke. My phone is not cutting it. I know nothing beyond point-and-shoot photography. I would really like my photos to look at least somewhat nice. Not blurry or grainy or badly colored, even when involving some motion or low light. (Yes I do touch them up a little with my computer, but I'm not an expert, and there is only so much touching up I can do.)

So what do I look for in a camera? Any suggestions of a particular camera that someone with little experience can use that won't break the bank?

And what about my photography skills. Anywhere I can find basic, helpful information on taking good pictures?

Any reasonably up-to-date phone will do as well as a basic point-and-shoot. So unless you are interested in learning about lighting or working with different lenses or manual mode in a $400+ Camera, I'd spend the money on a phone upgrade.

I have three point and shoot cameras, a Canon, Kodak, and a Nikon Coolpix. I find my phone is easy to use, because it is always there, but the point and shoots have some cool settings for various types of pix. We resurrected the tiny Nikon Coolpix earlier this month, because Ds was going on a backcountry trip and he was not sure how his solar cellphone charger would work. So the camera with extra batteries and an extra sd card was perfect.

And I plan to take a camera along on my next all day hike, because loads of photos not only runs down phone battery, but also interferes with some gps hiking aops.

One big difference in point and shoot is batteries. The smallest model tend to use special rechargeable batteries, while slightly larger models use standard AA batteries. Just something to be aware of.

A lot depends how you want to use camera. I liked having a small one (before I had a smart phone) because I could carry it around for impromptu shots. But a slightly larger model is easier to use and takes better pix, imo.