Menu

SAT Prep?

If your AL took the SAT early, did you have them prep? if so, what did you do? Did you cover any topics ahead of schedule (I'm especially wondering if doing something like Key to Geometry to at least have the terminology down would be good). DD10 now has a reason why it's important to her to do well, as opposed to taking the test and then seeing what she's eligible for, so the stress level is going to be higher.

We used the Sadlier-Oxford Vocab Workshop series and Grammar & Writing for Standardized Tests. Also practice tests from the CB Blue Book. I focused on the verbal portions because the goal was to get a SET-qualifying score and she's within striking distance on the verbal but not the math.

I did recently buy a friend's copy of Dr. Chung's math book but we haven't used it yet.

I have no idea whether this experience from decades ago is relevant to you, but my mother did make sure I had a basic grasp of the main topics that would be covered on the math portion of the SAT when I took it in 7th grade in the early 80's. This amounted to her explaining these concepts to me for a couple of hours, not any kind of major test prep. 

If I had a child who was motivated to do well on the test, I would definitely make sure they had an opportunity to be prepared for the material they would encounter. I'd probably buy an actual test prep book, because the math covered on the SAT is so specific. 

If she is feeling stressed, I would address that first. What exactly about the test might stress her? The geometry isn't extensive and in my humble opinion, a bright, math-loving kid who is already working on algebra might figure it out by practicing with the blue book's practice tests. Work on a few tests and see what she feels...consider if it makes her more or less stressed and address those areas again accordingly.