Menu

Tell me the difference between CLEPing and AP courses

What is the big difference? Or they basically the same?  I graduated with a C average in high school and worked my arse off to graduate with honors in college.  I never took an AP course or did any CLEP testing.  It is all new to me.  I also want to have some knowledge of this stuff too when I do go and talk to the counselor at the local high school.  We are 50/50 on what to do with high school.

The short version is that many colleges do not acccept CLEP. I think of all the colleges (about 30) my oldest 3 children applied to - only one accepted CLEP. Almost every college accepts APs, but most do not accept every AP that one can take (for instance - very few seem to accept the Human Geography). The majority do accept the more popular ones (the 2 English exams, the science ones, the languages , the histories) and they have got my kids as much as 8 credit units each (again each college has different rules).

If you don't know where your child wants to attend college, and they will be able  to cope with AP exams - then that is your safest bet.

However, if you do know where they want to go and that college accepts CLEP - then that is the cheaper and easier route.

CLEP courses give you instant credits based on your scores, and like someone mentioned, some colleges don't accept them. AP courses are validated once the student starts attending the university or college where they're requesting the credits from. AP courses are more widely accepted. Most community colleges accept both of them. I had credit for both, and transferred them into my education with no problem