Menu

9yr Old Son wants to learn about engineering (robots, cars, rockets). Suggestions?

Hi everyone!

My son is very interested in engineering and I'd love to foster that. He plays with legos all day long and as part of our homeschooling, (I'm starting this summer) I'd like to help him delve into this topic.

Do any of you have suggestions about books, kits, activites, etc. that would be helpful for him?

Thank you so much!

Help him fix things, lawn mowers, cars, weed whackers, plumbing issues, electrical issues, anything that needs worked on. If you have a tv that is broke let him take it apart, he isn't likely to fix a TV, but can still learn a lot from it. Figuring out what is wrong with something and how to fix it is a big part of engineering. Dh grew up on a farm working on farm equipment with his dad. He is an extremely good engineer with great troubleshooting skills. I have an engineering degree and have worked 10 years as an engineer and I will never be the engineer that he is. I just didn't grow up with those opportunities. He saw how things worked long before going to college to get the theory of why they worked. We both spend time teaching things to dd on a regular basis now as well even though she may not grasp some of the stuff for a couple of years, she does pick up a lot.

I can also suggest things like getting involved in something like a ham radio club or a model railroad club.

I'll second ham radio, I earned my technical lic at the age of 12 (the youngest in my area!). Also (depends on his reading skills and his interests), you might want to look into 4H's robotics and computer curriculum. I just ordered them and they look good, lots of hands on stuff so will require some input from you. Haven't started "using" it yet, but plan to let DS do one project a week or two depending on how involved they are.

My son is also enjoying the "cartoon guide for physics". Some is a bit upper level, but sitting and explaining it makes it clear.