Menu

Speech, Debate and Forensics

I came back from my first NCFCA tournament this weekend. My son is doing debate, but as a parent I am asked (nay, required!) to judge all sorts of events. I had the privileged to judge two speech rounds. One was a persuasive speech and one was an impromptu sort of speech where the student draws three topics and then after four minutes of prep time gives a six minute speech.

In both cases I was blown away the quality of the speakers I had children as young as twelve compete in both events. The best of persuasive speakers was advocating a specific law change and she could easily give her speech anywhere and gain converts to her advocacy But other speeches were on fun topics like chickens as pets and a gap year after high school. In the impromptu round one girl used a quote that caused one of the adults, a speaker by trade, to stop her and get her to repeat it so he could use it.

If you are interested in your child gaining confidence in speaking this is a great way to go.

The debaters are equally amazing. I saw students who hear an eight minute presentation from the first team (affirmative) and after only a couple of minutes of prep time get up and present an eight minute counter speech with evidence and organization. I also saw the students cross examine each other both coming up with good questions to ask and dealing with a slippery witness and answering tough questions, some of which were loaded about their point of view on the topic being debated.

Further all these children knew a whole lot more about the UN and how it operates than anyone I know.

The two groups I am aware of doing this are:

http://www.ncfca.org/ This is the one we participated in.

http://www.stoausa.org/