Menu

Please critique my curriculum for 2nd and 3rd

Hello, I am new to homeschooling and hoped you could check over my curriculum choices for the coming year. Please feel free to tell me what I am missing.

Second Grade

Saxon Math 2

GWG 2

STOW 1

HWOT Cursive Handwriting

McGraw Hill Reading Level 2

McGraw Hill Spelling Level 2

Prima Latina

Spelling from private tutor

Science: undecided

Free and family reading from STOW and WTM recommendations

Extra Curricular: AWANA, brownies, and baton

Third Grade

Saxon Math 3 (seems below her level might move on to 5/4)

GWG 3

STOW 1

McGraw Hill Reading Level 3

McGraw Hill Spelling Level 3

Prima Latina

Spelling from private tutor

Science: undecided

Guitar when she regains use of her hand

Free and family reading from STOW and WTM recommendations

Extra Curricular: AWANA and brownies (Basketball when she regains use of her hand)

Handwriting: Dd had an accident leaving her unable to use her right hand. We will have to start printing with the left hand and then move to HWOT Cursive Handwriting.

Any input is GREATLY appreciated!!

Your choices are great Michele!

You may want to add some music appreciation and artist study. There are many ways to do this. Ours is to have an artist and composer of the month. I download paintings from Artchive and put them up on the wall. We then get books from the library about the artist. There's a free intro to picture study available from http://www.currclick.com at the moment.

For composer study we also get books and listen to that particular composer's music while doing crafts.

We've really enjoyed SOTW. The activity guide is fantastic. See the link to the Yahoo group in my signature for timeline and memory cards for SOTW1&2 and worksheets for SOTW2.

I hope your daughter is able to use her hand soon.