Menu

Math requirements with a non-math kid - Does everyone get to pre-calculus?

Hi there. I am new to the High School board. My dd is finishing up 8th grade in April. I am getting ready to go to the convention in March. Currently we are doing Teaching Textbooks Pre-Algebra. We love Teaching Textbooks - so I am not looking for a new curriculum. What I am trying to figure out is if all students are expected to get to pre-calculus. When I did this a decade ago with my non-math ds - FL required 3 years of math. We had the option of doing Algebra A and B (each a credit) and geometry. That was how I put it on his transcripts and all was well and good. Fast Forward 10 years - and I am reading 4 math credits to graduate and at least in SC - no mention of being able to divide Algebra over 2 years.

I honestly do not see my dd even remotely understanding pre-calculus. Her college plans at this point (she is only 13) is looking like community college for 2 years and then we will see after that.

My gut is telling me that I should continue with TT Algebra 1 and 2 and geometry and then do a serious consumer math class. That is a whole 'nuther post on why schools don't push and give fulfillment credit for real life budgeting math.

Before I decide to not push so hard on getting the math done as quickly I want to see if I am in the minority for not expecting her to go to pre-calculus. I hope that makes some sort of sense. I don't want to go slower and then panic that we are not on track for pre-calculus. Thanks!!!

Hi from another SC mom!