Menu

cps question

A friend just called. He lives in the DFW area and shares custody of his 10th grader with the child's mom (they were never married). She has been homeschooling him, but is not doing a very good job. The child is unable to write a paragraph or complete even 6th grade level math. My friend wants the child to be in public or private school.

He knows there have been several CPS-reported incidents with his ex-gf and her kids, but she will not tell him what they are about.

He wants to know:

1) Does he have legal access to the reports about his kid if they share custody and decision-making about the child?

2) If she is not schooling the child at all, or is doing a woefully inadequate job, what are his options? Can he make a CPS report? Will they look into it? Can he take her to family court?

Any advice would be helpful. He thought since I was a nurse I would know, but I don't.

1) Does he have legal access to the reports about his kid if they share custody and decision-making about the child?

2) If she is not schooling the child at all, or is doing a woefully inadequate job, what are his options? Can he make a CPS report? Will they look into it? Can he take her to family court?

Based on my time as a CASA volunteer in MI (not actual law experience and not TX):

1 - possibly not, a lot of that stuff is non-public, to try to protect the family, but if his name is on the birth certificate that may make it visible to him when it wouldn't be to the general public

2 - It would make more sense to go to whatever body set up the custody arrangement, not to CPS - they're already "on file" there, and it should be obvious if the mom is violating what is already in place, or if she's not he can get the custody paperwork changed to specify educational plans

He needs a family law attorney. I am wonder, though, if he *shares* custody why this apparently chronic educational neglect is only now getting addressed and noticed?