Menu

Where to start?

Guest MrsMaonaigh

Guest MrsMaonaigh

Hello! My name is Christi and I'm mom to three girls. I JUST learned that there was a title to how we plan to educate. However, I have no idea where to start. My oldest daughter is in middle school. My middle child is about to start Pre K. I want to supplement their public school education with the things that their program has cut out. Music, arts, secondary language, most sciences. Where do I begin though? I'm completely new to this so I need to be baby stepped through it LOL! Are there any good links or books on how to get started? Thank you for your help!

First, I suggest checking out a copy of The Well Trained Mind from your library, if you haven't read it yet. That book has been so helpful to me.

I can help you out with your younger one a bit. I blogged what I did for kindergarten with my daughter here. Here's a link to our read aloud list. We just started Real Science Odyssey Life which is designed for 1st-3rd grade, although we haven't gotten too far yet. My daughter is really getting a kick out of The Story of the World Ancients. A book that I really like for art is Making Amazing Art. I know a lot of people like Artistic Pursuits for art as well. We haven't done anything with foreign language or music so far. I'm sure some others will weigh in with some suggestions as well. Good luck! There is a lot of support on this forum.

Very cool blog!

When my son was in middle school we did an art study. I picked artists who had pieces in our loc art museum. We studied the artist and the genre, and then we visited the museum to see the work in person. I also suggested books for him to read for outside reading, and these were all classiscs. He had a good Spanish teacher, so I didn't worry about that. For history and science, we just read deeper on the subjects he was covering in school.

Hope that helps.