Menu

What to do for ds6 during downtime in HS

nikkistone

Hi Wise Hive Minds

I'm new to HSing and have yet another question. What should I have my newly 6yo (who isn't reading strongly yet) work on while I'm working with his older brother?

He can work on penmanship for a little while. And I have a few workbooks, but with ds6 not reading very well, he'll need instructions and help. Should I just have him go play while I'm working with ds8? And then when he's reading better, he can do the workbooks?

I give my daughter breaks. She's not too fond of school yet (she just completed her K year) and she'll complain a lot without breaks. She usually goes in the backyard and plays or up to her room if the weather isn't nice. If she doesn't want to leave the table, she'll draw pictures or color.

I found a great idea in Sue Patrick's Workbox book (have yet to implement the workbox idea, though!). I bought four different posters, two of each one and had them laminated. The I cut out continents, coins, number etc., put welcro on the smaller pieces and on the poster I left whole, and my dd has to match them. Keeps her entertained, on her feet (we use an over-the-door poster hanger instead of a flip chart), and also either teaches or reinforces something educational. Since th posters at the school supply store are only $1.99, and the laminating there is pretty cheap as well, it's a qucik, simple, cheap way to give her breaks, yet keep her focused.

So she doesn't get out of the "rhythm" of school when she has breaks like that? That's my fear with my ds6.

That was my problem with my dd. She would take a break and go to the playroom, but it was difficult to get her back in "school" mode. Posters are working great. Other things we use are magnetic dress-up dolls, lacing (yes, she still likes them), coloring pages, or a simple craft. However, the posters are by far her favorite!

typing!