Menu

Singapore, CLE Math, Miquon ?

rousselab

I am new to homeschooling and trying to find the math program that is the best fit for us. Color or the lack of it doesn't seem to be an issue with my oldest, so that's not really a factor in our decision. I want to use a strong math program that teaches all of the necessary info (of course), however I don't want one that only teaches facts and memorization. I understand the importance of memorizing the facts, however I really want our children to be able to understand math and to be able to visualize it utilizing mental math. I hope that makes sense....

So....we have three children, the oldest of whom knows her numbers, shapes, can count in the hundreds, and is showing a strong desire to learn more math. We have two younger ones as well. We have pattern blocks, cuisenaire rods, and other manipulatives. Anyway, I have researched the many math programs and here are some that we are leaning towards from the various samples and/or reviews online.

CLE: I have read that most everyone who uses it likes it, and has had good success long term with it. I also like that it is Christ centered and seems to be very thorough. However, I am wondering if CLE math mostly teaches fact memorization as you progress through their curriculum. I have a 100 level teachers guide, but can't tell from this early level if they introduce things like number bonds or grouping things mentally in order to make math easier and more fun. I would really appreciate some insight from CLE math curriculum users.