Menu

New Homeschooling Mom - need curriculum help

irizarry4

Hello, all!

I am new to homeschooling. I recently pulled my 2 children out of PS (1st and 4th). I am spending the remaining weeks of school discovering and filling in gaps, and catching my children up to whatever curriculum I decide to use next year. Which brings me to my big quandary.

When I first set out on this venture, I never imagined there would be so much to choose from out there, and I never counted on feeling so overwhelmed. Here is my philosophy:

I want my children to be taught from a Protestant Christian Biblical Worldview. I am a fully bilingual native Spanish speaker living in Texas, so my children (whose native language is English) will be taught to read and write Spanish from early elementary (they already speak it). I am a linguist by training and Language Arts are critical to me. I want my children to have a working understanding of the mechanics of the English language (grammar), and strong skills in effective oral and written communication. Solid foundation and good understanding of math as well as science.

History - I want to try ToG Yr1 -- we'll see some love it, some hate it!

Apologia Science (start with Astronomy) - any opinions?

Bible - Is ToG enough, or would you use a Bible curriculum too?

Saxon Math, Singapore Math, Horizons, Teaching Textbooks??? - math is such a polarizing subject! I want my kids to be challenged, but don't want them to hate it. At first I was just going to use Saxon, but I've read so much now I feel confused.

Lang Arts - ToG recommends Easy Grammar, but does that cover all of Language Arts? or will the non-grammar portions be covered by the writing assignments in ToG? This is a key thing for me.