Menu

Bookshark A/Sonlight K History Too Violent for Kindergarten?

matchaverde

I am in my first year of homeschooling with our charter school. So yes, total newbie. 😁👋 In the last month and a half, my 5 year old boy developed anxiety, partly due to a social situation. But once that situation has resolved, he has this worry bug about bad guys. He constantly talks about how he is scared of bad guys breaking into our home. We managed to calm his worries, so he is not talking about it all the time but he is still sadly preoccupied with it at least six times a day.

Today I pulled out a couple of books we are working on with Bookshark A to see what he remembers. But he has these random questions like was King Henry (VIII) a bad guy? Then I remember how he is concerned about the other pictures he has seen in the Bookshark books that made him concern like an illustration of captured Africans chained up or how Magellan was about to get hit in the head in the Philippines in Story of Exploration. And it makes me think, "Wait, is this history curriculum contributing to his anxiety of bad guys?" I look ahead in the main reference books, and it is not like Bookshark will get any gentler.

I am not sure what to do. I have studied the Bookshark catalog, it says that it works with students with special needs like anxiety but there is no where I can find in the materials (and their blogs) how I am supposed to adjust for a sensitive, anxious boy, like am I supposed to spend extra time and read his read alouds and books ahead of time and make sure to cover up any violent images with post its and make notes of what to skip.

Or is my time better spent taking a break from Bookshark and try something else to meet whatever his standards are for history?