Menu

Using Well-Trained Mind in the Classroom

Hello All,

I'm a public school teacher - 7th grade- and considering using the Writing with Ease and Writing with Skill programs in my classroom.  I have 20 students with reading/writing skills ranging from 1st to 8th grade.  My language arts period is 75 minutes long.  I will have at least 5 ability groups that will need different levels of instruction.  I do not have a classroom aide.  First question- is it even possible to use these programs under these conditions?  If so, which is the most effective approach- focus on the Writing Program or the Grammar Program?

The difficulty will be in finding ways to meet with each group adequately and what to do with the other groups while you are actively working with a group.  

For Writing with Ease:  Copywork can be done individually.  Dictation can be done in small groups.  Narration would have to be done in a small group setting and I would find it difficult to write each student's narration while the others waited. 

For Writing with Skill:  It would be a bit easier to coordinate because the summaries are written, not narrated so could be done individually at their seats.  But then to be effective you would have to either have all summary narrations handed in to be graded or have them go around sharing them verbally, I would think. 

• Like 1

18 hours ago, KathiB said:

I will have at least 5 ability groups that will need different levels of instruction.