Menu

Etiquette and Adulting

I would love some resources to teach etiquette and basic “adulting” skills. 

When I graduated I felt like I was really lacking knowledge in several areas. I’m hoping to help my kids do a better in those things. But I know I will probably forget quite a few skills and topics  

Do you have any great resources for teaching etiquette or any worthwhile books on skills teens should have before graduating high school and launching out on their own? 

Has anyone made a list of skills and topics they want to cover with their kids before graduation? 

Two books I found helpful (the manners book we did in late elementary grades, but *I* learned some things, like who to tip and how much!):

Manners Matter: Living the Golden Rule for Kids of All Ages (Hermine Hartley)
• introductions and greetings
• presenting yourself
• table manners
• restaurant manners
• appropriate gender relations
• appropriate conversations
• telephone manners
• family manners
• people manners and sportsmanship
• guest manners and gratitude
• community manners
• travel manners
• tips and gratuity
• business community/work manners

Life Skills for Kids: Equipping Your Child for the Real World (Christine Fields) 
• taking responsibility  (attitude, competence, perseverance, consequences)
• people skills  (get along, manners/etiquette, communication, conflict resolution)
• home skills  (shopping, cooking, laundry, cleaning)
• life navigation  (personal info, transportation, emergencies, computer safety)
• time and space management/organizational skills
• basic home and auto maintenance/repair
• money management
• health/personal grooming habits
• mental health/habits; learning style
• spiritual habits  (worldview, beliefs, worship, prayer, service, church history)
• decision making  (choices, prioritizing, problem-solving, ethics)
• fostering creativity  (pursue passion, develop hobbies, exposure to the arts)