Menu

I used his book, but I didn't buy a kit. I'm not a kit person, we have too many supplies on hand. The kits were new last year I think, but there was some discussion of them on this board. You might find it by searching if no one responds, but this will give you a bump :).

I bought a chemistry kit from him and it was missing half of the chemicals. I also thought that the manual was a whole lot more complicated than it needed to be. I have a degree in biochemistry and worked in a lab for many years so it's not like I don't know about science labs. We switched to Quality Science Labs and were much happier.

I purchased this last year with high hopes of a great lab experience.

It did not happen.  I have no chemistry background and this kit and the manual were so complicated I could not even help my son.  There is no way he could have done it on his own.  We ended up doing labs from our textbook.  The kit was sold for a huge loss.

I think a tried and true kit from Quality Science Labs (MIcroChem kit) would probably be a better choice.

Robin

See posts #20 and #30 here. My description of our experience is kind of embedded in that post.

http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/508143-a-vent/?hl=%2Bg1234+%2Bthompson&do=findComment&comment=5539290