Menu

HS Science - lecture & book based curriculum?

We are entering into high school next year - I'm a newbie at this high school thing, but we've been homeschooling from the start.

My predicament is science. I have been searching online for a science curriculum - high school level - that includes lectures (preferably via video) and good solid text books. I Googled Prentice Hall Science Lectures, along with several other key word searches, and I couldn't find anything that includes what I'm looking for. Ideally, I'd like something similar to what is experienced in high school or college, but done at home. Lessons that would go something like this: read a chapter, listen to a lecture, write a summary - then write a paper at the end of the unit. Hands on things are OK, but we usually don't get to them.

My daughter is interested in aviation, so meteorology, earth science, astronomy, and physics are the science courses we would like her to study to get ready for this field.

I've seen the Great Courses, which I might take advantage of, but they are not tied to any textbook, so this would make lesson planning quite involved, which I'm not excited about. I'd like something with the lessons already laid out, writing assignments, lectures, all tied to a text book.

This might work for you.

http://www.brightstorm.com/textbook/

The lectures aren't geared for any specific textbook, but they have done correlations for some specific textbooks.

Click on the subject, then find the title of the textbook, then click on any chapter and then section and it will show you the videos that go with it.

http://hippocampus.org/HippoCampus/Biology;jsessionid=C9635ABE75C03F00C08A62DA010B6E07?view=Textbooks

This might work also. Again, the videos aren't tied to a particular book, but they have been sorted to correlate with various textbooks.

This might work for you.

http://www.brightstorm.com/textbook/