Menu

Thoughts on Veritas Press?

Barefoot Explorer

Hi everyone!

I am new to classical education, and have been researching my curriculum options. Holy cow, I am overwhelmed!! My son is only 4, so I know that I have a while to decide, but I would like to have an idea of where we are heading. I also would like the option of being able to put him in a classical private school if we ever move to a town that has one. My first exposure to classical schooling was reading The Well Trained Mind, which I love, but I am also drawn to the idea of ordering a full curriculum that would have things like lesson plans, online support, and classes in the things that I am not strong in (calculus, chemistry etc.) Piecing my own curriculum together based on The Well Trained Mind seems a lot more daunting considering the fact that I did not have a classical education myself. At the same time, I am having a hard time getting the root of what the actual philosophies behind some the major curriculum options are. I don't want to get half way through and discover that they teach philosophies or beliefs that are very different than our families.

One of the main curriculums that I am looking at is Veritas Press. It looks promising, but I am scared to commit, not knowing exactly what to expect. What I would really love is the inside scoop from those of you who are familiar with the program. What are they all about? What are the big differences between them and The Well Trained Mind? Is it worth the extra expense? If we encounter materials that aren't in line with our family's values, is there anyway to substitute something different, or are we stuck?

The first thing I would be ordering is the Phonics Museum, so I would also love to hear thoughts on that. Right now we are using The Ordinary Parents Guide to Teaching Reading, and it seems to be working just fine for us so far, but I will have to track down some readers and worksheets soon, so I am trying to get an idea of what I want to do.