Menu

I need help with a research project re: autistic individuals and transition services

I have a new job as a researcher. Right now I am involved in a research project to find out how well states are doing with their transition programs for individuals on the autism spectrum. I am hoping to find out from some of you what your experience has been using those transition services. If you don't mind posting your state and your opinion of the services (or pming or emailing me) I would really appreciate it. Here are a couple of specific questions I'd also like to pick your brains about:

1. Does your state provide you with enough information to transition your child successfully?

2. At what age do the transition services (really) begin?

3. Have you been successful getting the services you need beginning at age 14?

4. Is the information organized in a usable way?

5. Anything else that you would want heard by experts who are working on this subject?

I'm not an expert, just a peon who is helping the experts. The questions I posted above seem to be concerns from what I have gathered, but I wanted to check with the SN part of the Hive because I know how well informed many of you are (you have helped me in the past!).

This is obviously not a serious scientific survey, but I am finding that the official information may be misleading and I need a clue as to which way to direct my thinking.

Thanks in advance!

I'm curious why you are posting this to a home school site? These services are most often accessed through the schools. I have looked in to services a little bit, but i've not heard much good about them. I only plan to check in with social security before he turns 18. but my son is very high functioning, with the bipolar and the tourettes being more of an issue than the autism. i live in VA