Menu

Having a freak out moment...

This is my first year homeschooling... And I'm so worried about not finishing everything by the beginning of the summer. I definitely do not want to do school work in the summer. I'm only homeschooling 1 of my 4 kids so the summer is time for us to all be together and do fun stuff. When I've told a few non homeschoolers that I only spend an hour and a half to two hours a day doing school work they seem astonished. Which makes me feel like Maybe it isn't enough time. My son is in 3rd grade...and so far he's picking up things quickly and retaining the info. Then my ex husband took my son away for a few days for a mini vacation..so we missed three days of work which is making me think I need to do school work over the weekend or double up for a few days. Am I crazy? :)

The great thing about homeschooling is that you don't have to worry about staying on someone else's pace. Time spent with family or doing outside activities isn't wasted time--even though it's not academic.

Relax and enjoy! If you know your son is doing well, don't sweat the opinions of other people :001_smile:

Georgiana is right. If this is your first year, it'll take you some time to get confident and find your groove. You don't want to push to much, but at the same time, you don't want to slack and let him (and you) get lazy/behind. Don't stress too much; so long as you *care*, chances are you'll do just fine.

Try to relax a little and enjoy the fun of homeschooling. :001_smile: Don't tell 'other people' how long you spend each day on 'school'. It's none of their beeswax anyway, LOL.