Menu

Recommendation for a good World History spine for 7th grade

Hi, I am new to posting here (but have lurked for a long time) and I am looking for World History suggestions for my 7th grade dd. I have been using Sonlight for history for the past two years doing Cores 3 and 4. Sonlight's Alt 7 core uses Hillyers Child's History of the World. Any reviews on this text here? I just am not organized enough to do the KHE outline method recommended in TWTM, I need some kind of guidance.

I would appreciate any suggestions or advice.

Thanks,

Amy

I have decided to uses Trisms History Makers, but there are several World History programs that I've looked at. Abeka has a 7th grade world history text: "History of the World in Christian Perspective." The Rainbow Resource catalog has two programs for middle school that look interesting. One is called "History of Our World." The other is called "Global History and Geography: The Growth of Civilizations." Both of these are secular. I was thinking of getting one of these to supplement "History Makers," but I've spent so much already!

As you are already familiar with how Sonlight works you might want to stick with it. Honestly, Core 6 and 7 look better than Alt7, though - it is hard to cram all that history into one school year! And I like the History Encyclopedia and SOTW more than I liked Hillyers.....I thought it was good reading but it moves too fast for my personal taste.

Maybe the best thing to do would be to get a copy of A Child's History of the World and read it yourself. Then you would be able to judge whether it would work well for your family.