Menu

Tell me about 4 year universities

. . . as opposed to 2-year colleges.

Neither my husband or I went to college. I've been homeschooling for about 20 years. My 2 oldest daughters did 2-year programs at the community college (although they were accepted at 4-year universities) and thought their programs were easy.

My son (child #3) math whiz, listened to Dave Ramsey's teen program in grade 12 and it affected him so much that he would not attend a 4-year college because of the $6000 it was going to cost him per year after scholarships. He has attended the community college and will graduate next month, having 1 year in civil engineering and then finishing 2 years of CADD drafting. He has the opportunity to transfer to the state university for mechanical engineering. But he's so jaded. Mom, he says to me last night, high school was harder than college. sigh.

He just doesn't know if he can stomach 2-1/2 more years of school to get that engineering degree or if he even wants it. again, sigh.

So all 3 thought college was easy. All 3 graduated/will graduate with 4.0 GPA from the (two different) community colleges.

I have been told here that maybe my kids are overprepared for the community college. I say, ya think?

So my 10th grader is finishing AP English with PA Homeschoolers and is doing really well! Plus precalculus, CLEP psychology, physics. She says to me, is college work going to be very much harder than my AP class? I tell her no. Her brother says he has never done anything as hard in college as what she does in 1 week for that class. again, sigh.