Menu

Phokaia/Phocaea

Those of you who've read the ancients or History of the Ancient World might recall the city of Phokaia that tricked the Persians (who were laying siege to their city) by asking for a day of truce to consider terms of surrender and then, in the night, loaded their ships with everything and sailed off, leaving the Persians an empty city. They sailed with penteconters (I think I have that spelled right), a unique ship with a square sail. They helped found the city of Massalia, modern Marseilles.

Turns out the little sleepy summer vacation spot I've been hanging out in for the past five years - the one with the primary industry of fishing - is PHOKAIA!! It's called Foca (Foh-chah) now and is simply lovely. They have a museum devoted to the history of the town, they are excavating the temples to Athena and Cybele, and you can see ancient ruins. Outside the city is a monument to the Persian dead, presumably erected by the Persians (though I haven't yet gone to see it).

I never realized that Foca was THAT Phokaia - but it really and truly is.

(And the Siren rocks are just off the shore!)

Just had to share with folks who might understand my excitement at actually being in such a historical place!

I would have been so excited, had I been you! Will you have time to really acquaint yourself with the history, the ruins and the museums?