Menu

Writing program for child with HF autism?

I'm new to the WTM boards, and new to the whole idea of classical education. I have an 11 yo dd with high functioning autism, and I am going crazy trying to figure out the best approach to teaching writing. She is a fairly fluent writer, and is able to write organized paragraphs, but needs to grow in the area of style. Her sentence structure lacks variety, and she is content with tired nouns and verbs.

Right now, I am thinking I will go with Rod and Staff english and supplement with ideas from Brave Writer. I'm also considering using some Image Grammar techniques and Kilgallon Sentence Composing.

Then, possibly Lost Tools of Writing when she is in 7th or 8th grade...

Has anyone here tried an approach like this? Or would I be better off with IEW?

Thanks for any insight you can give me.

I'm new to the WTM boards, and new to the whole idea of classical education. I have an 11 yo dd with high functioning autism, and I am going crazy trying to figure out the best approach to teaching writing. She is a fairly fluent writer, and is able to write organized paragraphs, but needs to grow in the area of style. Her sentence structure lacks variety, and she is content with tired nouns and verbs.

Has anyone here tried an approach like this? Or would I be better off with IEW?

My dd (13) also has HFA but struggles more with writing than your dd. I like the Brave Writer "lifestyle" ideas like poetry tea times, etc. and I own the Writer's Jungle. But as my dd has gotten older I've found that IEW is a better fit for us. The structure with everything from key word outlines, banned word lists, to checklists etc. made the writing process very straightforward. I also like the supplements that are available like the portable wall (folder), and the booklet "A Word Write Now". These have been very helpful!