Menu

Options for Mandarin

I'm looking for inexpensive options for Mandarin next year.

I'm hoping to find a program, or text and DVD's or text and CD's, which doesn't use pinyin, but teaches correct pronunciation, character writing, etc.. Has anyone found something like this?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

The only thing that is going to teach correct pronunciation with the proper tones is a teacher. I studied Mandarin in college, spent a summer in China, have a BA and MA in Chinese Studies, and it is a language I can't imagine learning through a program. But, there are programs out there. Have you searched the boards for past threads on this topic? As my kids didn't want to learn it I haven't kept up with what is out there -- and the materials I used are ancient and likely out of print!

One other point. Is there a reason why you would not use pinyin? It is a very clear and concise romanization of the language, and is a vital part of learning the correct pronunciation. Unless you have family in Taiwan and want instead to use BoPoMoFo (or what ever it is called), being comfortable with pinyin is the way to go. In my classes we'd have dictation where we'd have to write the sentence in pinyin with the correct tone markings AND write it with characters. Signage in China is both in characters and pinyin.

And if you are going with the Taiwan approach you'll need to find traditional complex characters -- most programs that use pinyin would also use the revised "simplified" characters.

Or maybe I'm really confusing you, but the whole "no pinyin" thing surprised me!!