Menu

Interesting discussion in NYT on declining academic standards at universities.

One reason would be technology. Think how much time is saved in researching when you can utilize the internet as well as the library or using a word processing program versus typing. On the flip side, technology offers numerous distractions both in the classroom and outside it.

Financially, college "appears" to be more affordable and kids are less aware of the sacrifices parents are making and are out of touch as to just how much of their future the heavy debt-load is going to cost them. I studied much harder in grad school where every penny came out of our living budget. Just my brief 2-cents' worth.

I read all the opinions, and each has some element of truth in it. I wonder, though, if there's also some kind of reaction or burnout after kids graduate from high-pressure high schools with full AP loads. I remember reading a book about Whitman High, regarded as the best public school on the West Coast. The author followed a group of students in their senior year and into college, where most found the going easy after the horrible pressure of their last high school year. The guy who got into Harvard found he didn't need to make straight A's, could get a few B's here and there without a problem, and began playing Frisbee golf and other things he never had time for in high school.

I think that even an academically rigorous institution is less pressure than high school and some kids just let loose after the crazy environment from which they just graduated.