Menu

Is jewelry design intellectual property?

I want this necklace. But I don't want to spend $350 on it when I can make it myself for a fraction of that. I enjoy making jewelry but I'm not good at design, so I use others' ideas as a jumping off point. I haven't ever copied something exactly. I bought some similar beads but started to feel guilty that I was stealing someone's intellectual property.

Obviously, designers are copying someone else's ideas to a degree all the time, but I'm not sure where the line is crossed.

Is it illegal to make a similar necklace myself? Or just tacky?

Oh dear. I just found this answer (from a lawyer )to your question.

"Unlike fashion designs, jewelry designs may be copyrighted under current law. (Those who are interested in the protectibility of fashion designs may wish to follow the status of the Design Piracy Prohibition Act which is currently pending before the United States Senate as Senate Bill 1957.) "

(The bill for fashion design she referenced is apparently dead.)

Edited by Blessedfamily
additional info

Oh dear. I just found this answer (from a lawyer )to your question.

"Unlike fashion designs, jewelry designs may be copyrighted under current law. (Those who are interested in the protectibility of fashion designs may wish to follow the status of the Design Piracy Prohibition Act which is currently pending before the United States Senate as Senate Bill 1957.) "

I'd think if it was copyrighted it would say so on the product information page, and I don't see it there. Maybe it's okay to copy it for personal use, as long as I don't sell it....

You're absolutely correct in saying designers are inspired by each other all the time: Not just fashion design, but music, writing, and other forms of art.

I stumbled on a blog for people who like to design jewelry, and copyright infringement seems to be a hot topic. Most seem to think it's wrong when you're trying to make a profit, as you say.